Glass Top Coffin

Glass Top Coffin

Glass Top Coffin (Front)

Glass Top Coffin Inner

Glass Top Coffin (Inner)

Glass Top Coffin Back

Glass Top Coffin (Back)

“The dreamer dreamed the dust rose up and walked
But when the dreamer woke did anyone tell the dust
-and I fell-
and stars like dust covered me”

Original LP released in 1975 on Vertigo 6360 115

Released on CD by Esoteric Recordings (catalogue no. ECLEC2184) in March 2010

Rare: This album is quite rare and is worth a bit on the collector’s market, more so in fact than ‘Space Hymns’.
— Leon Economides, January 1999

Australian CD: I bought a newly released Ramases “Space Hymns” CD on eBay – it has six bonus tracks from “Glass Top Coffin” which are tracks 2, 3, 6, 9, 10 and 11. CD is on Progressive Line a division of Dole Music – Made in Australia P 1971/75 C 2001.
— Mike Sonnabend, 31 January 2002

Produced by Ramases and Barry Kirsch, recorded at Phonogram Studios, London

All songs written by Ramases and his wife Sel

Cover concept by Ramases, artwork by Dave Field/art direction: Jack Wood

Album Cover: He was really upset by the cover of the album. I saw the first proofs and they weren’t at all what he envisaged. The cut-out was meant to show a man falling backwards into space into the Horsehead nebula, which when you open up the album revealed that bird. Well, he didn’t like what they had done, but the artwork was completed and the record company said, that’s that!! So Ram persuaded the record company to let him scratch (literally) the litho plates before the cover went to press. He sanded down that little circle that is lighter in the mans head that forms a part of that birds shoulder, and it did look marginally better. His vision was that the man would look like he was in a space suit with helmet on, etc etc…
— Paul Hollyer, September 2000


  1. Golden Landing [6:05]
  2. Long, Long Time [5:16]
  3. Now Mona Lisa [2:59]
  4. God Voice [3:18]
  5. Mind Island [4:37]
  6. Only The Loneliest Feeling [3:01]
  7. Sweet Reason [5:48]
  8. Stepping Stones [4:30]
  9. Saler Man [5:06]
  10. Children Of The Green Earth [3:31]
  11. Glass Top Coffin [4:02]
  12. Golden Landing (Part II) [2:23]


  • Ramases and Sel: Lead vocals and acoustic guitars
  • Jo Romero: Acoustic and electric guitars, Tablas
  • Pete Kingsman: Electric and string Bass
  • Roger Harrison: Drums and tuned percussion
  • Barry Kirsch: Piano, Synthesizer
  • Colin Thurston: Bass on ‘Long Long Time’
  • Kay (Garner), Sue (Glover) & Sunny (Leslie) and the Eddie Lester Chorale: Backing vocals
    (Sue and Sunny were from the Brotherhood Of Man)
  • Bon Bertles (of Nucleus): Sax
  • Orchestra: Members of the Royal Philharmonic and London Symphony Orchestras
  • Orchestral arrangements by Rob Young



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s